MUN Committees List

Whether secretariat, training officer or teacher you have that time you want to run a committee but have no idea which. Also, MUN often goes beyond the list of United Nations committees. For those moments on mental blank, we created this comprehensive list of all the MUN committees we could think of and their abbreviations.

Full List of Model United Nations Committees

ABC – Administrative and Budgetary Committee (UNGA 5th Committee)

AIIB – Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank

AL – Arab League

AU – African Union

ADB – Asian Development Bank

ASEAN – Association of Southeastern Asian Nations

BRICS – Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa

CERN – European Organization for Nuclear Research

CEU – Council of the European Union

CIS – Commonwealth of Independent States

CSW – Commission on the Status of Women

CTBTO – Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization

DICEC – Disarmament and International Security Committee (UNGA 1st Committee)

ECLAC – Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

ECOFIN – Economic and Financial Committee (UNGA 2nd Committee)

ECOSOC – Economic and Social Council

EC – European Council

EP – European Parliament

EU – European Union

FAO – Food and Agriculture Organization

FIFA:Fédération Internationale de Football Association

G7 – Group of Seven (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, United Kingdom, and the United States)

G8 – Group of Eight (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, United Kingdom, and the United States)

G20 – Group of Twenty (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, European Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, and the United States)

GA – General Assembly (UNGA)

GA6 – Legal (UNGA 6th Committee)

GDP – Gross Domestic Product

HRC – Human Rights Council

HSC: HIstorical Security Council

IADB – Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)

IAEA – International Atomic Energy Agency

ICAO – International Civil Aviation Organisation

ICC – International Criminal Court

ICC – International Chamber of Commerce

ICJ – International Court of Justice

ICRC – International Committee of the Red Cross

IFAD – International Fund for Agricultural Development

IMF – International Monetary Fund

IMO – International Maritime Organisation

IOC – International Olympic Committee

IOPC – International Olympic and Paralympic Committee

Interpol – International Criminal Police Organization

JCC – Joint Crisis Committee

LoN: League of Nations

MIST: Mexico, Indonesia, South Korea, Turkey

MUN – Model United Nations

NAFTA – North Atlantic Free Trade Agency

NATO – North Atlantic Treaty Organization

OPEC – Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries

OSCE – Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe

SC – Security Council (UNSC)

SOCHUM – Social, Cultural, and Humanitarian Committee (UNGA 3rd Committee)

SPECPOL – Special Political and Decolonization (UNGA 4th Committee)

UNFCCC – Climate Change Conference

UNCTAD – United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

UNDP – United Nations Development Program

UNEP – United Nations Environmental Program

UNESCO – UN Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization

UNISDR – United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction

UNOOSA – United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs

UNFCCC – UN Framework on Climate Change

UNHCR – UN High Commissioner for Refugees

UNIDO – UN Industrial Development Organization

UN Women

WBG – World Bank Group (WB)

WHO – World Health Organization

WTO – World Trade Organization



Think we missed a committee? Contact Us and we’ll add it to the list!

Advanced MUN Courses

Subscribe To The HelpMyMUN Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest updates from the HelpMyMUN team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!